Eleven consecutives Euroleague Finals Rounds

For a staggering 11th consecutive season and indeed every one of her EuroLeague Women career to date, Sonja Petrovic has been on the roster of a Final Four or Final Eight club.

Recognized as one of the great European players of her generation and with her appeal extending beyond the Continent, Petrovic played again with Dynamo Kursk defending their title. In her guise as the reigning EuroLeague Women Regular Season MVP, Petrovic played a big role for Kursk in a tough Semi-Finals game against domestic rival UMMC and in the last game for the third position vs. Yakin Dogu where she was the MVP once more time.

However, the Serbian admitted that whilst fiercely passionate about her eye-catching record and one that is likely to be extended even further in future years, it has been a roller-coaster ride at times. She explained: “My worst memories of EuroLeague Women Final Four are from 2010, since I wasn’t next to my team [Sparta&K M.R. Vidnoje] due to my second torn ACL – and especially since it was such big title victory and dedicated to the late [former owner] Shabtai von Kalmanovich. Also, last year was really tough since I was not able to get healthy in time for Final Four and couldn’t help my team 100 percent. I had been hoping to finish my EuroLeague Women campaign with Prague on a higher note.”

Importantly for Petrovic, there have been plenty of highs – with two moments holding a special place in her heart. She declared: “I have so many great memories since I am so proud to have been on teams that qualified to every Final tournament in all of my 11 EuroLeague Women seasons.”But, if I have to choose, it would be my first Final Four back in 2008 with Bourges, when it was all just so overwhelming and huge to me.”Plus of course, there was also winning the title with ZVVZ USK Prague during 2015 in front my family, our fans and with the best group of people ever.”

The 11-season run to the Finals for Petrovic

  • Sopron 2018 – Dynamo Kursk
  • Ekaterinburg 2017 – ZVVZ USK Prague
  • Istanbul 2016 – ZVVZ USK Prague
  • Prague 2015 – ZVVZ USK Prague
  • Ekaterinburg 2014 – Sparta&K M.R. Vidnoje
  • Ekaterinburg 2013 – Sparta&K M.R. Vidnoje
  • Istanbul 2012 – Sparta&K M.R. Vidnoje
  • Ekaterinburg 2011 – Sparta&K M.R. Vidnoje
  • Valencia 2010 – Sparta&K M.R. Vidnoje
  • Salamanca 2009 – Sparta&K M.R. Vidnoje
  • Brno 2008 – Bourges Basket